The Delhi Daredevils are one of the eight founding franchises in the IPL, but they have never won the competition. After a great start which saw them make the semi-finals in the first two seasons, they have really struggled recently and will be desperate to put that behind them. With Ricky Ponting in charge of the team, they certainly have a man who knows how to win, he just needs to pass that on to his team now and turn around their fortunes. IPL Delhi team 2018 is placed below.

Delhi Daredevils
Source :- The Indian Express

We now have the retained lists for the IPL 2018, so we can see which players are staying at their clubs for the upcoming season. The Daredevils have decided to retain three players, Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris and Shreyas Lyer.

Both Pant and Lyer are two young Indian players who have very bright futures ahead of them. The Daredevils have done well to keep them, and will be using them to build around, not only this season but also for the next few seasons. Both are very good with the bat, and Pant has the added bonus of being able to keep wicket which makes him very valuable to the Daredevils in the IPL.

Morris adds great experience to this team and he can contribute with both bat and ball. He bats down the order and can hit the ball a long way so if he comes in for the final few overs he can do some real damage in a short space of time. He can also do some damage with the ball, he is a very good bowler and expect to see him lead the Daredevils in wickets taken this season.

With three players signed up already, including two young Indian batsmen to build around, the Daredevils are in a good position right now. They will head into the IPL auction looking to add some depth to their squad, and a top class player or two if they can afford to sign them.

That auction is not far away now and the Daredevils will be hoping it can be the start of something more positive for them after tasting nothing but disappointment in recent years. They have three players as a start, and two of those are very promising youngsters so with a good auction, they could finally become competitive again and challenge higher up the table that we have seen in the past few seasons.

The viewers and supporters would like to see the daredevils of Delhi show their daredevilry and add some serious competition to an already intensified league. What the Daredevils need right now is consistency in their side. While the squad is decent enough to reach the playoffs, getting more consistent can certainly take them through to the championship. DD team 2018 players list is placed below.

Delhi Daredevils Team Players List: DD Team Squad IPL 2018

Shreyas Iyer Chris Morris
Rishabh Pant Glenn Maxwell
Gautam Gambhir Jason Roy
Mohammed Shami Colin Munro
Amit Mishra Kagiso Rabada
Prithvi Shaw Daniel Christian
Rahul Tewatia Trent Boult
Vijay Shankar Sandeep Lamichhane
Harshal Patel
Avesh Khan
Shahbaz Nadeem
Jayant Yadav
Gurkeerat Singh
Manjot Kalra
Ankit Sharma
Abhishek Sharma
Naman Ojha
Sayan Ghosh