In Indian Premier League (IPL) the highest run-getter will reward with the Orange Cap. The IPL Orange Cap is given to the top batsman with most runs in the tournament during the course of the season. The first orange cap award was given to Brendon McCullum but at the end of the 2008 edition this award was given to Shaun Marsh and then he became the first holder of this cap. In the previous season 10, Vivo IPL 2017, David Warner was awarded the title “Orange Cap holder of season 10”.

Here is the list of Orange cap holder with highest/most run scorer in the tournament of all season.

IPL Orange Cap Holder List (2008 to 2017)

Year Player Team Matches Runs 100s 50s SR
2008 Shaun Marsh Kings XI Punjab 11 616 1 5 139.68
2009 Matthew Hayden Chennai Super Kings 12 572 0 5 144.81
2010 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians 15 618 0 5 132.61
2011 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 12 608 2 3 183.13
2012 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 15 733 1 7 160.74
2013 Michael Hussey Chennai Super Kings 17 733 0 6 129.50
2014 Robin Uthappa Kolkata Knight Riders 16 660 0 5 137.78
2015 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 562 0 7 156.54
2016 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 16 973 4 7 152.03
2017 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 641 1 4 141.81


Orange Cap in IPL 2017

Australian opener and Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner continues his dominance in the VIVO IPL 2017 on the list of leading run-scorer. He scored 641 runs in 14 matches at an average of 58.27 and become the Orange cap holder for the second time (1st in IPL 2015, Season 8). Gautam Gambhir is the second-highest run-scoring batsman in that season with 498 runs.
Orange Cap in IPL2016
In IPL 2016, it was Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli, who smashed a mammoth 973 runs in 16 matches. It includes four hundred and seven fifties to finish the season as the highest run-scorer and became Orange Cap holder for the 9th edition of IPL.As I said David Warner was the Orange Cap winner in 2015 IPL. In 14 matches, Sunrisers Hyderabad captain made 562 runs with a strike rate of 156.54. But Sunrisers Hyderabad finished with a disappointing sixth place in the tournament.

In IPL 2014, Kolkata Knight Riders player Robin Uthappa got the Orange Cap, becoming the second Indian cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar. Robin made 660 runs in 16 matches which included five fifties and a highest score of 83 not out. KKR become the IPL champions for the second time In IPL 2014.

IPL Winners List All Season From 2008 to 2017

Michael Hussey for Chennai Super Kings scored maximum runs in an IPL season 2013. He made 733 runs in 17 matches with CSK topping the team standings but lost to Mumbai Indians in the final.

West Indies sixer king Chris Gayle of Royal Challengers bagged the Orange Cap For the consecutive years 2011 and 2012. In 2011 IPL he made a total of 608 runs in 12 matches with the highest score of 107. RCB finished top of the points table but lost to CSK in the final of IPL 2011. In IPL 2012, Gayle made 733 runs in 15 matches with a fantastic strike rate of 160.74 but fails to make the playoff stage.

In IPL season 3, Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar of Mumbai Indians who was awarded the Orange Cap. He made 618 runs in 15 matches with a strike rate of 132.61. But Mumbai losing to Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2010 final.

In IPL 2009, another Australian batsman Matthew Hayden playing for the Chennai Super Kings scored 572 runs in 12 matches. He smashed five 50s hitting 60 fours and 22 sixes with the highest score of 89 and became the Orange Cap holder.

In the first season of IPL 2008 Australian batsman, Shaun Marsh amassed 616 runs in 11 matches played for King XI Punjab. The impressive batting performance from Marsh helped the KXIP secured second place in the points table.