The Purple Cap is an annual cricket award presented to the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League. After the introduction of Orange Cap on 25 April 2008, the Indian Premier League announced the introduction of the Purple Cap on 13 May 2008. The bowler with most wickets in the tournament during the course of the season would wear the Purple Cap while fielding, with the overall leading wicket-taker at the conclusion of the tournament winning the actual Purple Cap award on the day of the season’s final. In case of a tie, the bowler with superior economy rate would hold the Purple Cap

While it is commonly said T20 format is all about batsman and high scoring runs, but it is always the bowlers who decide the course of the match. Bowlers in their quota of four overs can snatch the game away from opposition’s clutches, or loose deliveries can ruin the fate of their side. In the inaugural edition of Indian Premier League in 2008, it was Pakistan’s pacer Sohail Tanvir who bagged the first Purple Cap. Playing 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals, Tanvir took 22 wickets with at an economy rate of 6.46.

IPL Winners List All Season From 2008 to 2017

In IPL 2009, it was Indian medium-pacer Rudra Pratap Singh who bagged 23 wickets in 16 matches at an economy rate of 6.98. RP Singh’s incredible bowling performance not only made him the Purple Cap holder but also helped his side Deccan Chargers become the title winners under Adam Gilchrist’s captaincy.

IPL Purple Cap Holder List (2008 to 2017)

Year Player Name Team Matches Wickets Economy
2008 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 11 22 6.46
2009 RP Singh Deccan Chargers 16 23 6.98
2010 Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 16 21 7.29
2011 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 16 28 5.95
2012 Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils 16 25 7.19
2013 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 18 32 7.95
2014 Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings 16 23 8.39
2015 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 17 26 8.14
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 17 23 7.42
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 26 5.70

Purple Cap Players – Most Wickets Taken By Bowlers (2008 to 2017)

IPL Orange Cap Winners List for Season 2008 to 2017

IPL 2010 Purple Cap

In IPL 2010, it was another Deccan Chargers bowler Pragyan Ojha who became the Purple Cap holder. The spinner was impressive with fine bowling as he picked 21 wickets in 16 matches. He beat the other Indian spinners like Anil Kumble, Amit Mishra and Harbhajan Singh to emerge as the bowler with most wickets under his belt.

IPL 2011 Purple Cap

In IPL 2011, Sri Lanka’s bowling great and Mumbai Indians iconic player, Lasith Malinga who was adjudged the Purple Cap winner. The bowler with signature slinging action produced economical spells during the particular season of Indian Premier League to become the highest wicket-taker. Malinga took 28 wickets in 16 matches at a spell-binding economy of 5.95.

IPL 2012 Purple Cap

In IPL 2012, Delhi Daredevils pacer Morne Morkel became the highest wicket-taker of the season. The immensely lethal South African bowler bagged 25 wickets in 16 matches at 7.19. His best bowling figures of 4/20 came against Kings XI Punjab. He beat Sunil Narine of Kolkata Knight Riders who finished with 24 wickets in 15 matches.

IPL 2013 Purple Cap

In IPL 2013, Dwayne Bravo picked as much as 32 wickets in 18 matches giving away 497 runs to become the leading wicket-taker of the season. His tally of 32 wickets did earn him not only his first Purple Cap but also remains the most number of wickets scalped by a single player in an IPL edition. He beat James Faulkner of Rajasthan Royals who finished with 28 wickets, Harbhajan Singh of Mumbai Indians who picked 24 wickets. Well, it was one of the most memorable performances by the West Indian bowler who now plays for Gujarat Lions.

IPL 2014 Purple Cap

In IPL 2014, it was Chennai Super Kings medium pacer Mohit Sharma who finished as the leading wicket-taker in the gala sporting event. The CSK bowler took 23 wickets in 16 matches at an economy of 8.39. In IPL 2015, for the second time West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo bagged the Purple Cap in the tournament. Bravo playing for Chennai Super Kings picked 26 wickets in 17 matches. He beat Lasith Malinga of Mumbai Indians and Yuzvendra Chahal of Royal Challengers Bangalore to become the highest wicket-taker of the season.

IPL 2016 Purple Cap

In IPL 2016, Bhuvneshwar Kumar of Sunrisers Hyderabad was agonisingly painful for the batsmen from opponents’ team. The young Indian pace battery bowled in perfect line and length deliveries to pick 23 scalps in 17 matches. Despite his economy falling on the expensive side, Kumar got Sunrisers Hyderabad timely breakthrough wickets which contributed immensely in the David Warner-led side’s championships title win.

IPL 2017 Purple Cap

The 10th edition of the Indian Premier League kicked off on April 5 and since then, we have got to see some unexpected results popping out of the matches. While that is nothing new-IPL is a stage where most predictions tend to fall to pieces what has been a feature of this season has been the way the bowlers have hogged the limelight. Two players-Andrew Tye and Samuel Badree-have managed to take hat-tricks and Bhuvneshwar Kumar has made a habit turning matches in favour of SRH with his masterful death over bowling.