The Kolkata Knight Riders have always been a team that people look out for, although for a period of time their on-field performances have not matched expectations. A golden couple of years gave them two IPL titles in 2012 and 2014, but aside from that it has been relatively disappointing for them. Jacques Kallis is the coach of this team and he has huge experience in the game in all formats, he knows what it takes to compete on the T20 scene, and will be trying to bring success back to the team. Kolkata IPL team 2018 is placed below.

kolkata knight ridersKnight Riders have decided to retain just two players this season, which gives them three right to match cards available for use at the auction. The two players they have retained are Sunil Narine and Andre Russell.

Sunil Narine gives the team one of the best spin options in the world and his ability with the ball is key in any T20 competition, but especially the IPL on spin friendly pitches. He is in the prime of his career and is a good enough bowler to help the Knight Riders contend here, if they can add a good pace bowler to their line-up, they could find themselves with the best bowling attack in the league.

Andre Russell is a very good option in the middle order and he has huge power with the bat, making him key in the final few overs of a game. A big over or two from Russell can make a huge difference to the team’s total when batting, he is vital for them. He can also contribute with the ball and gives them another option if they are looking for a wicket, he is a very useful cricketer.

The Knight Riders went on to bolster their squad with a further 17 players at the IPL auction, adding quality throughout the line-up. Their bowling attack will be led by two Australian Mitchell’s, that is Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Johnson. Starc is one of the best bowlers in the world right now, and is a great pick up for the Knight Riders. Johnson may not quite have the same pace as he used to, but he is hugely experienced when it comes to T20 cricket, and will still pick up wickets.

The one area where the Knight Riders are lacking is in the batting department, and they are going to have to hope that some of their players can stand up and have huge tournament if they are to be successful. Players like Chris Lynn, Shubhman Gill and Nitish Rana are going to have to play brilliantly if they are to have any chance of posting big total. The full Kolkata Knight Riders squad can be viewed at the bottom of this article.

Kolkata has always won the attendance stakes and the fans will surely keep this tradition going as they come out in large numbers to support KKR players who live their slogan of “Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re!”. IPL KKR team list 2018 is placed below.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team Players List: KKR Team Squad IPL 2018

Dinesh Karthik Sunil Narine
Robin Uthappa Andre Russell
Piyush Chawla Mitchell Starc
Kuldeep Yadav Chris Lynn
Shubman Gill Cameron Delport
Ishank Jaggi Mitchell Johnson
Kamlesh Nagarkoti Javon Searless
Nitish Rana
Vinay Kumar
Apoorv Wankhade
Rinku Singh
Shivam Mavi